GMO vs Organic

Like many people I enjoyed watching the documentary Food Inc.  It certainly portrays Monsanto as the big evil corporation who is out to get the little guy.  Additionally, Monsanto is responsible for much of the GMO grains we eat in the US.  As I have an intolerance of US wheat (I can eat wheat products in Africa without getting a gluten hangover) I might blame Monsanto just a little bit for not being able to eat cupcakes anymore (except from specialty bakeries of course).

So when I saw this article Judge Dismisses Organic Farmers’ Case Against Monsanto  (posted by NPR) pop up on my news feed yesterday, I was annoyed.  Until I read the article more closely.  I have to agree with this point the judge made;

Monsanto brings an average of 13 patent-enforcement lawsuits per year, which, the judge said, “is hardly significant when compared to the number of farms in the United States, approximately two million.”

What do you think?  Should the organic farmers have won their case?  Or should this be something a judge decides on later if Monsanto does take these farmers to court for patent infringement?

 

Comments?

